Finished Fairing the Aft Deck!

This morning I tried to get out early again to beat the heat so that I could finish fairing the aft deck.  When I got down to the farm it was starting to warm up but was very manageable and OK weather for epoxy work.  I knew the heat was coming so I wasted no time and got right down to sanding away.  After about an hour or so of sanding I was happy to see that we didn’t have too many low spots in the deck.

2017-07-02 09.48.01.jpg

While we still had some cloud cover I wiped everything down with Acetone and then mixed up a batch of unthickened epoxy and brushed on a layer to wet out the entire area.  Below you can see the left half was just wiped down with acetone and the right half was wet out with epoxy.

2017-07-02 10.10.40.jpg

I immediately mixed up a big batch of epoxy thickened with 407 low density fairing filler and poured it all over the place.  I took varying pieces of straight wood (like paint stirrers) and spread it all around as level as I possibly could.  I wasn’t too worried about putting too much down, its pretty easy to sand off, I just wanted to make sure there were no more low spots!

2017-07-02 10.42.43.jpg

After taking a break and working on some other small projects around the boat the epoxy was cured and the sun had really heated things up.  I contemplated calling it a day but knowing that I was so close I opted to push on and finish the job.  I began sanding away starting on the port side and working my way aft and then starboard.

2017-07-02 11.30.03.jpg

A couple hours later I was all done and I am quite happy to say that the aft deck is smooth and fair! 🙂

2017-07-02 12.10.44.jpg

Leave a Reply

